top of page

Varsity Donuts

Not only is this donut shop far from Texas but it is my favorite donut shop I've visited! You can find Varsity Donuts in the little college town of Manhattan, Kansas! Not only is the school pride in this little town unforgettable so are the donuts. Varsity is a small little shop with a old school diner feel that puts smiles on everyones face that walks in. They even have a donut truck that is open for late night snacks! Even if you just want a fantastic classic glazed donut they've got it!

That being said I couldn't just get one donut, so I settled for 5 different kinds! I got the Party girl, K-stater, Wabash Cannonball, Party Balls and a Flat Tire.

The Party girl reminded me of a donut every little girl would want, it had a flashy hot pink glaze along with colorful sprinkles on a fluffy yeast donut.

The K-stater was very similar it just captivated the university's colors of purple in a donut.

The Wabash Cannonball was unlike any other donut I've had. It takes not one but three donuts to make the final product! The base of all three is a dense classic cake donut, one of which was dyed purple to support the wildcats. To hold all the donuts together they had a rich yet light buttercream icing between each donut, and the lastly a sweet fountain of melted chocolate covered all of the donuts creating the Wabash Cannonball.

After the last extravagant donut I decided to tone it down with some Party Balls! These little donut holes are the perfect sharable snack, rolled in a combination of cinnamon and sugar. Try and get them while they are nice and hot!

I couldn't leave without getting my favorite toppings on a donut so of course I got the flat tire, a yeast donut topped with a white glaze and crushed oreos. So if you're late to work, just let them know sorry I got a flat tire on the way!

Next time you see that your university is playing a game in Manhattan, hop on that plane and remember you'll have some unforgettable donuts waiting for you!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page